Going Back to Work

So my 6 week maternity leave was up on April 15th. And although they want me to take care of myself and take as much time as I need, business is business and I must return. I go back tomorrow and I am not looking forward to it. I know it’s something I need to do and it’s definitely something I’ve been putting off. I know it will keep me busy and I’ll have less down time to sit and think. I just don’t like the idea of walking in and people hugging me asking me how I’m doing. I work at a school so there will be plenty of people to do that. I also don’t like the idea of when people see me they will think “I wonder if she’s okay?” or “I can’t believe she lost her baby.” I know I’m probably thinking too much into it. People have said it won’t be that bad. I just don’t want to feel like I’m being watched. I know adults, well most of the time, will be careful what they say, but when you work with children you never know what they will say or when they will say it. Kids can be very blunt and direct. I know not to take things personal and that children are just curious, but it doesn’t mean it stings less. I just pray I can get through the day tomorrow, preferably with no breakdowns.

Leave a Reply

