Day 1

I went back to work today.  I wasn’t looking forward to it.  I wasn’t looking forward to the awkward hellos, the nervous smiles, the staring eyes, the curious minds, hugs, prayers and condolences. I pulled into the parking lot and instantly had butterflies in my stomach.  I walked into the front office and was immediately greeted and hugged by familiar faces.   There’s something about people telling you they love you and are praying for you that immediately makes you want to cry.

I quickly made it to the other side of the campus and found safe haven in my portable.  It’s very rare that I’m in there and I usually don’t like to walk across campus to it, but I couldn’t get to it fast enough.  I was okay most of the day as long as I was by myself in my room.  It’s when I had to interact with people that made it hard.  I cried at least three times throughout the day.  Although I saw many of them, I didn’t work with any students.  That will be tomorrow’s challenge.

One thought on “Day 1

  1. This is the husband of Lisa, Ernie. We both will be praying for you. I too am a teacher and know the difficulties of being back at a school after such a difficult time in your life. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

