Blessings

I am an avid listener to my local Klove station. Music is therapeutic for me. It’s amazing how a song can explain and say everything you’re thinking and feeling at that moment.  Music has definitely been my solace these last few months.  One of the songs that has ministered greatly to me has been “Blessings” by Laura Story.  She wrote this CD five years after her husband was hospitalized from a brain tumor.  He has not received complete healing, yet they still continue to praise and worship God.

Despite the recent trials my family and I are going through, I know I am truly blessed. This song helps to bring a new perspective to our circumstance.  Although it didn’t feel like it at the beginning, I have to remember that God has chosen us to represent Him during this trial.  There’s a reason He has allowed this into our lives, a plan we may never know. I have included the song in case you have never heard it before.  I also posted the lyrics and interjected some of my thoughts (in purple) besides the lyrics to show you how this song has ministered to me.

Lyrics:

We pray for blessings
We pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering
All the while, You hear each spoken need (God hears each prayer, yet sometimes when he answers those prayers, they may not be what we wanted or expected.)
Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things (He knows what’s best.)

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near (This brings us to a whole new level of faith in our relationship with God.)
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise (He could have called any one of our other children home.)

We pray for wisdom
Your voice to hear (We’re waiting for God to reveal His plan for us.)
And we cry in anger when we cannot feel You near (I have been angry many times.)
We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love (I thought at first how could He love us and let this happen.)
As if every promise from Your Word is not enough (It’s so easy to buy into the lies, instead of remembering and believing the truth.)
All the while, You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe (All He wants is for us to trust Him and lean on Him.)

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near
And what if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

When friends betray us (I thought this was something that hurt. I now know what is important.)
When darkness seems to win (Some days It’s so hard to get out of bed and keep going.)
We know the pain reminds this heart (One day there will be no more pain, no more sadness.)
That this is not, this is not our home (We will be reunited with our sweet Bella.)

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
And what if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near
What if my greatest disappointments
Or the aching of this life (I’ve never felt such pain and hurt until now.)
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy (God has a plan for us. He has chosen us to represent Him during our trial.)
And what if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are Your mercies in disguise

Leave a Reply

