I Will Carry You

No other song can make me cry like this one.  Written and sang by Selah, the song is a true account of one of Selah’s members, Todd and his wife Angie, who lost their baby girl at 32 weeks gestation.  They delivered a baby girl named Audrey who lived for two and a half hours.  She had many health conditions  and although they knew for most of the pregnancy she might not ever survive, they left it in God’s hands.  Like them, I had many plans for our daughter Bella.  I was looking forward to all the big bows, the pretty pink dresses and everything that entails a little princess. I longed to hold her and kiss her constantly, to rock her to sleep, to hear her little feet running across the house.   I loved her more than life itself, but there is someone who loved her more.  When we lost Bella, we tried to figure out the reason why. The only thing that brought us comfort was knowing that God chose us to carry her.  He chose us to represent Him during our storm. So for that I will be thankful, that he allowed me to carry her.  He allowed me to carry one of his sweet angels.  She rests in Jesus’ arms now and I know she is in a better place. She will forever be a part of me, and I did not just carry her for nine months, but I will carry her in my heart for all my life.

There were photographs I wanted to take
Things I wanted to show you
Sing sweet lullabies wipe your teary eyes
Who could love you like this? People say that I am brave but I`m not
Truth is I`m barely hanging on
But there`s a greater story
Written long before me
Because He loves you like this

So I will carry you
While your heart beats here
Long beyond the empty cradle
Through the coming years
I will carry you
All my life
And I will praise the one who`s chosen me
To carry you

Such a short time
Such a long road
All this madness
But I know
That the silence
Has brought me to His voice
And He says

I`ve shown her photographs of time beginning
Walked her through the parted seas
Angel lullabies no more teary eyes
Who could love her like this?

I will carry you
While your heart beats here
Long beyond the empty cradle
Through the coming years
I will carry you
All your life
And I will praise the one who`s chosen me
To carry you

One thought on “I Will Carry You

  1. There probably isn’t a more meaningful song than this. This song gives me such a clear image of where she is and who she is with. Visualizing God walking her through the pages of time sends chills of relief over me. I miss her so badly, but I am so very thankful that she is already home. I envy her. I wish I was there. She is getting to experience what we are all still waiting for. She was given a flash-forward. Wait for me little baby girl. I will be there one day. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

