Rejoicing in My Trials Part 1

“Dear friends, don’t be surprised at the fiery trials you are going through, as if something strange were happening to you. Instead, be very glad—for these trials make you partners with Christ in his suffering, so that you will have the wonderful joy of seeing his glory when it is revealed to all the world.” ~ 1 Peter 4:12-13

Do you ever feel like you experience one trial after another? That you can’t catch a break? Do you begin to question God and ask why? I know I have.

In the Bible we learn about one of God’s faithful servants, Job. A righteous man full of integrity and strong in his faith. Satan believed Job was only that way because God had blessed him and protected him. God knew that no matter what happened Job would remain faithful, so he gave Satan permission to test him. By the end Job had lost all his children, his livestock, his home and was covered in painful sores. Job cried out to God more than once and questioned Him for all his suffering. In the end, God revealed himself to Job and because Job remained faithful, he was blessed more than what was taken.

Recently my husband and I went through a rough patch. In a two-week period, our daughter severely sprained her knee, our home was broken into, our son caught a stomach bug, the vet told us our dog could possibly have a life threatening condition and we celebrated the fourth anniversary of our daughter’s passing.  I began to reflect on our life and started questioning why we had been through so many trials and heartache. “Is this the life God wants for us? I don’t understand why we have been through so much. We have been through more than most people.” I was trying to make sense of it all.  And of course, I couldn’t. Even though I felt like we had been through more than most, I understood we couldn’t compare with Job. However, I felt like we were a present day version.

Through my confusion and discouragement God revealed Himself to me. And it was amazing…

image(2)

2 thoughts on “Rejoicing in My Trials Part 1

Leave a Reply

