Rejoicing in My Trials Part 2

“For he has not ignored or belittled the suffering of the needy. He has not turned his back on them, but has listened to their cries for help.” ~ Psalm 22:24

You can read part one here

One morning on my way to work, I shared my heart with my husband. I shared my frustration with the recent events that took place in our life.  I shared my confusion about why we have had to go through so many things.  I wondered if this was God’s plan for our life.  I won’t bore you with all the details, but that was the gist of our conversation.  As I pulled into the parking lot God spoke to me. No, it wasn’t a loud thundering voice that came out of nowhere.  But words of a song that began to play.

“Lay your head down tonight
Take a rest from the fight
Don’t try to figure it out.
Just listen to what I’m whispering to your heart.
‘Cause I know this is not
Anything like you thought
The story of your life was gonna be.
And it feels like the end has started closing in on you,
But it’s just not true.
There’s so much of the story that’s still yet to unfold...”

It was as if God was replaying the conversation I had with my husband back to me. The words rang in my ears and my eyes began to fill with tears. I just sat in my car and let the song play out. After the song I composed myself and walked into the building. My coworkers could see the look of defeat on my face and asked if I was okay.  I am blessed to work at a church so sharing my struggles is not frowned upon and I can receive encouragement from just about anyone.  Before our shift began my coworker pulled me out of our prayer time. When I left the room I noticed another coworker, and friend, standing there as well.  I immediately became confused and wondered why we were all there together.

What I didn’t know was that I was about to have another God moment…

One thought on “Rejoicing in My Trials Part 2

Leave a Reply

